Digital Learning Competencies Information and Links

What are the Digital Learning Competencies?

The Digital Learning Competencies (DLCs) are skills that teachers and leaders should integrate into their practice in order to create an effective digital learning environment.
The content of the competencies was informed by national models such as the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) teaching standards, International Association for K-12 Online Learning (iNACOL), and the North Carolina Logic Model created in 2013 as a result of HB 23. More than fifty educators from around North Carolina took these models and identified important components and personalized the content in order to make these specific to the teachers and students in North Carolina.

The competencies are organized into four focus areas: Leadership in Digital Learning, Digital Citizenship, Digital Content and Instruction, and Data and Assessment. Each Focus Area has been aligned to the Professional Teaching Standards with a subset of competencies that help to explain and ‘unpack’ the Focus Area. For each competency, an example has been given to help introduce one possible way that competency might be implemented.



Teacher DLC form Teacher DLC Renewal Credit Application form - Tyrrell County Schools teachers use this form to request DLC credit for workshop participation.

DLC - Teacher Self-reflection

NC Digital Learning Competencies Wikispaces site

Crosswalk DLC - Teacher Evaluation

SimpleK12 Professional Development Online

DLC PD Opportunities by Focus Area *

Leadership in Digital Learning

 Digital Citizenship

 Digital Content and Instruction

(* Thanks to McDowell County Schools for assembling this list of online professional development content)

DLC banner

Enabling this option will replace all fonts with the Open Dyslexic font.
Enabling this option will show a high-contrast version of this site's theme.